Home > Journal > Wot…no TV!

Wot…no TV!

I do not have TV. I have no intention of getting TV. I will be over-rules by my wife, but the intention is still there. At the very least, if/when we do get TV it will not be hooked up to the TV network, it will be there for DVD playback purposes only (again, this in an intention).

It is with this in mind that my amusement is being fed by direct marketing people trying to sell me satellite (dish) TV. The conversation goes something like this…

“Hello Sir. We currently have this AMAZING offer: get access to three satellite networks for the price of one”

“What good is that to me without TV?”

“Yes sir, you just plug it into your TV”

“But I need to have a TV”

“Yes, it is simple, just plug it into your TV and watch hundreds of channels”

“My point is that I need to have a TV to watch these hundreds of channels, which I don’t have”

“Yes sir, if you have out network you will be able to watch these hundreds of channels”

“But I will need a TV, which I don’t have. I do not have TV!”

“You don’t have a TV”. Pause. “Will you be getting TV in the next few days?”

“No. I have no intention of getting a TV in the next few days or coming years”

“Why not?”

“Because I do not like TV, and even with a billion channels there would be nothing to watch so why do I need a TV.”

“Very good sir. It is your choice. Have a nice day”

Hmmm. Yes, it is my choice. This is also the first time someone has said to me ‘have a nice day’, must have been a foreigner then. But anyway, my point is that not having a TV seems to shock people; it is like choosing not to breath. Who needs TV when you get more amusement freaking people out over not having one.

I have since found the following website that should prevent marketing companies from calling (or at least reduce the number of unwanted calls): Do Not Call

Categories: Journal Tags: ,
  1. 18 Sep 2008 at 12:57

    I get that a lot here in Prague (from locals or visitors) when I say that I do not have a car, and have no intention of getting one in the next few days or coming years 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

